Media Month in Review – February 2014

I’ve been all sorts of busy and pre-occupied this month, which explains the relative dearth of movies watched, as well as all the editorials I said I’ll write and hadn’t. I’ll also use this entry to give a sentence or so on each of the currently airing anime I’ve watched, and there’d been a metric ton of those.

I use this post to go over all the media consumed/experienced over the past month, with 2-4 sentences per item. A way to give short thoughts on each topic.

Movies:

  • Frozen – I really wanted to watch this in the cinemas, but by the time my friend and I had time, it was only airing with Hebrew dub, and we didn’t want that, so I’ve watched it on the last night of the month, at home. Man, I had so much fun. Alongside Tangle, it really feels as if Disney is getting back on the horse in recent years. The movie held no surprises for me, being able to see all plot-twists, but that’s hardly an issue. The acting was solid, and as is often the case the supporting characters who are only meant to elicit jokes stole the show. I actually didn’t like Elsa and her voice actress (Idina Menzel) too much, but since she’s essentially a supporting character (as is the case in every Disney film, only one princess is the main character, and this time it’d been Anna) it wasn’t too much of an issue. I did wish they had more songs, the song above is the only major song in the film.

    All in all though? It was a charming movie, it was beautiful, it was fun, it was funny and it made me slightly emotional. Highly recommended.
    Continue reading