Media Month in Review – October 2009.

So, it’s time to cover what-all I’ve watched/read during the month of October. I’ve went to Icon 2009, the largest Israeli convention of the year, which might get a post of its own. I’ve also begun my third and final year of my B.A., which had been helpful in reading more books.

I am considering every so often perhaps making a post where I give one paragraph to several movies/books I don’t want to talk about at length, but want to give more than a sentence. Opine below.

Uninhibited Media Consumption? Click picture for source.

Read on for my media consumption of lastmonth, which had been quite significant, though I’m not sure if as significant as the spending list. Then again, buying takes less time than consuming what one buys!

Books:

  • Jack of Shadows by Roger Zelazny, in Hebrew. It’s just so short, so I picked it up and read it, again.
  • Legend, first book of the Drenai cycle, by David Gemmell. A very enjoyable and solid heroic fantasy read, with roman and “celtic” overtones.
  • Burndive, by Karin Lowachee, in Hebrew. An enjoyable read, very similar in the storyelling tone to the first book, Warchild, though the characters couldn’t be more different (or could they?). Now it turns out there’s also a third book, Cagebird. And I have no idea why it’s so expensive on Amazon.
  • Dead until Dark by Charlaine Harris (sadly, not with the cute cover). That was a fun romp. I am not sure I have the room and money to devour the whole series right now though. Might go through some of my current “stock” of books first…
  • Fables comic TPBs 1-3, Legends in Exile, Animal Farm, and Storybook Love. Bill Willingham was the guest of honour at Icon 2009. We have the full series in trade paperbacks, and I need to read it all, you know? Been too long since I’ve last read it.

Movies:

  • Last Chance Harvey, which was nice, but nothing out of the ordinary. I’ve suffered some instances of “Viewer sympathetic embarrassment” for the character of Harvey, portrayed by Dustin Hoffman.
  • X-Men Origins: Wolverine, which was not very good, to put it mildly. At least I didn’t feel my brain cells dying.
  • District 9 was quite nice, if a bit heavy handed on the allegory. Icon 2009’s opening film.
  • Gamer in Icon, where Gerard Butler had been so similar to Russell Crowe in Gladiator.
  • The Clone Returns Home in Icon, which is basically a French movie made in Japan. Too heavy on the nature shots, too light on making sense and having plot. It has one heart-rending scene.
  • Zombie Girl in Icon. A documentary on a 13 year old girl who had made a full-length feature film zombie horror film. Had some pacing issues, when things were slow in the production, and we could feel them slow watching them.
  • Let the Right One In in Icon. A nice little movie, and I never thought young girls with blood-splatters on their face would look so adorable.
  • The Secret of Kells in Icon, which was quite nice, and had an animation style that combined Samurai Jack and Powerpuff Girls. It also has some really nice music.
  • A short movie collection in Icon, which moved from the great to the sophomoric. List includes Marooned?, Fun on Earth, The League, Simulacrum®, and The Story of Sputnik).

Anime and TV:

  • Kyoran Kazoku Nikki 12-17. Too silly to watch non-stop, non-silly enough that I keep watching. Really love the opening.
  • Claymore 1-18. I had since finished the series. It begun slowly, and for some reason I can’t point out I ended up quite enjoying it and being sucked in.
  • Boston Legal ends. It had a good run, and it was time to step off the soap-box.
  • Ugly Betty, season 3 runs. A guilty pleasure, what can I say? And I knew Kimmie Keegan was portrayed by Lindsay Lohan.
  • Evangelion 1.0: You Are (Not) Alone at Icon. It was somewhat neat, it wasn’t “good”. Heck, if the anime ended where this movie ended, we wouldn’t have said it’s good either. This was the exposition. Now need to get to 2.0 where things would happen.
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

16 comments on “Media Month in Review – October 2009.

  1. Reltair says:

    District 9 was cool. Seems like you read your fair share of books this month. I’ve been slacking in that area. =/

    • Guy says:

      Fair share, I might have read more if school came back at the beginning of the month. I spend most of my time home in front of a computer, unless I’ve already started a book and it’s burning in my bones.

      Maybe this month I’ll get to 6-7, but it also depends on mood. Starting the Eisenhorn omnibus now, which is 3 books in one, so we’ll see.

  2. Wow, you’re able to read a lot in a month. Sadly, I don’t have much time for that anymore :(
    Also want to see District 9. Heard good things about it.

    • Guy says:

      We make time. Much of my reading time is while waiting for or riding the public transportation.

      District 9 was quite interesting. There are plot holes, and the allegory is so thick you can’t miss it from a mile away, but I still think it was quite well done.

  3. Optic says:

    Did my shoot on Clare actually made u watch Claymore? :D
    It was an exciting series all the way to the end. As the story is full of twist and turns, I was jumping up and down for the next episode (not literally :P).

    Can’t wait to grab the boxset when it comes out her locally.

    • Guy says:

      Well, I kept saying to myself the last couple of weeks I should watch Claymore, yours was the last straw.

      The series wasn’t very good when it begun, and it is not exceptional in any sense, but it sucked me in without noticing.
      I’m curious what they’ll do with the follow-up to the story, and whether I should get it in manga, now that I’m tied to the seiyu. They did change the end of the anime quite considerably, it seems.

      • Blowfish says:

        Yup,they changed the ending of the anime a bit.Im following the Manga and I am up to Vol 14 right now.You are actually quite right that this manga/anime isnt particulary good but it simply sucks you in.

        Whats really noticeable is that the mangaka has his fair share of problems to draw specific characters and other stuff but he imporves over the time.All in all id call the Art of the Manga a bit dirty but dont let that discourage you to try it out.
        Its a nice little shounen series after all :P

  4. Yi says:

    Ugly Betty used to be my guilty pleasure too. I dropped it sometime ago though and haven’t watched any of the new season. Simply not enough time to watch everything.

  5. Blowfish says:

    Haha I love the Kyouran Kazoku Nikki ending aswell.I usually dont like J-Pop tunes but this one is on my Walkmen :P
    So a girl actually made a Zombiemovie?Awesome! So are the brainmunchers the classical zombies or the muich dispised runerS?

    • Guy says:

      The movie touches on it, that there are correct ways to do zombies, and running zombies are wrong. So no, her zombies do not run.

      By her IMDB page, she’s 16-17 now, she was 13 when she filmed her movie.

      Also, I trust you meant opening, not ending, re Kyoran Kazoku Nikki, both because otherwise it doesn’t make sense in context, and because there are, what, 7 endings to the anime? :D

  6. lovelyduckie says:

    This month for anime it was Detecive Conan and catching up in One Piece. For manga I caught up in my ongoing series of the official releases of Skip Beat!, Pluto, xxxHolic, and Pet Shop of Horrors: Tokyo. I started and finished Maison Ikkoku. I started and am slowly eating through Berserk too.

    I’m really REALLY big on manga. I may cut back on figures and video games…but not manga!

    • Guy says:

      I wasn’t too fond of xxxHolic after reading the first two volumes. I am not keen on the waifish, too thin and too long limbs style of CLAMP, which is even more extreme in this series, the story was just ok, and the part where we had the Tsubasa Chronicles crew crashing through the series (as they had it crash through each of their series) was stupid and annoying, in terms of xxxHolic, and screw other series when their intruding does not benefit the current series.

      I’ll read Pluto (and 20th Century Boys) when they come to an end. Mom is reading them currently.

      My problem with manga (and I guess Visual Novels) is that they do not end. I mean, for many of the series, finishing after only 25 volumes is quite an accomplishment, and that’s an unreasonable amount of my life dedicated to the series (mainly the anguish of waiting for the next book to get released) and money. I can get a book for the cost of a manga, and one definitely is more meaty. Sadly, that’s not the manga.

  7. lovelyduckie says:

    “I’ll read Pluto (and 20th Century Boys) when they come to an end. Mom is reading them currently.”

    Those two series have my highest recommendation for their genre. I’m really enjoying them.

    I’m fond of how CLAMP re-invents their style. I’m really fascinated by their newest style, but the time period where they did Cardcaptor Sakura is still my favorite in terms of their art style. xxxHolic recently got difficult to understand due to me not having read any Tsubasa, I’m not quite sure how I feel about that…

    I admit if I know a series is going to be long I usually read the whole thing on scans on web sites and buy the manga as they’re released. For example I recently did that with Goong. OR if I can I’ll buy from that series in bulk officially.

    But if you catch up to Japan you’re forced to wait for quite a while. I only get 1 or 2 chapters of Skip Beat! a month, and I EAGERLY wait for them!

  8. Tommy says:

    X-Men Origins: Wolverine, which was not very good, to put it mildly. At least I didn’t feel my brain cells dying.

    At least you weren’t watching the bootleg version. I still remember the scene with “nail grows” written on screen….and the various 3D blocks that we get to watch tumbling. “orz

    I haven’t watched anything other than FMA:Brotherhood last month…I should watch some more anime.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.