Figure Friday – August 14th to 20th in Review.

I slightly got the dates on last week’s post messed up. The post covers from last Friday to this week’s Thursday. Anyway, on we go, with a special side dish of Comiket news, Volks Garage Kit, and NSFW figures on our “NOT!” list.

As always, click the “read more” to get to the main body of the post, click on the first picture of each figure to get to a post with more pictures that are larger. Clicking on the following smaller pictures will lead you to the Flickr page. And we’re on!

Five Hot:

1.

CANAAN Canaan 1/8 PVC figure by Good Smile Company

CANAAN Canaan 1/8 PVC figure by Good Smile Company

Compared to the source picture, Canaan’s body looks a bit short, would’ve worked better if she was more upright. This makes her look a bit less graceful and long limbed. The cloak isn’t actually attached to her body. The face is also slightly more emotional/short than her long face. Very cool figure though, very dynamic, if you don’t mind the pin holding her up. Personally, I think she looks best when she’s “shooting at you”, so you can see her face. Alphard from the original picture is also getting released.
Canaan also got a Nendoroid treatment, which is too ordinary, and looks like the clone of the Ryogi Shiki nendoroid.
January 2010, 200mm, 8,318 yen. Reserve.
BTW, for some reason you’ll note that the pictures of her cloak on Nekomagic are considerably a darker shade of brown than on Kumo’s blog.

 

    

Great shot.
Great shot.
Original image. Alphards a-coming.

Original image. Alphard's a-coming.

 

2.

Phantom ~Requiem for the Phantom~ Ein 1/8 PVC figure by Gift

Phantom ~Requiem for the Phantom~ Ein 1/8 PVC figure by Gift

Simple figure. No-nonsense in colouring, in pose. And it works. Nice fluid, clean lines, good hair. Face and eyes are totally dead, befitting a cold-hearted killer, eh?
January 2010, 200mm, 6,800 yen. Reserve.

 

Soul-dead eyes.

Soul-dead eyes.

3.

Evangelion 2.0 You can (not) Advance Moe Collect Plus 17 Ayanami Rei 1/7 PVC figure by Volks M.O.E.

Evangelion 2.0 You can (not) Advance Moe Collect Plus 17 Ayanami Rei 1/7 PVC figure by Volks M.O.E.

I love Rei Ayanami. I love her. Sadly, the Rei figure often gets ridiculous faces which annoys me to no end. This seems like a good plug-suit Rei with her face done right. I’ve ordered the Wave version recently. You can note, there’s also an accompanying Asuka. Both are good, but for some reason it seems someone oiled their suits, a bit too shiny. The gloss on Asuka is a bit excessive.
“Winter 2009”, 160mm tall (but longer), price unknown.

4.

Lucent Heart Magical Theia Nendoroid action figure by Good Smile Company

Lucent Heart Magical Theia Nendoroid action figure by Good Smile Company

An exclusive, sadly, it seems nendoroids are coming out too fast, which results in us getting the boring ones, and exclusive ones getting all the cool ones.
Cute, with a weird and cute lion-like companion. Can’t go wrong.
December 2009, 3,810 yen. Pre-order here, through deputy services, such as Goody-Japan

 

5.

La campanella della benedizione Agnes Boulange 1/6 GK by Volks Turn A-brand

La campanella della benedizione Agnes Boulange 1/6 GK by Volks Turn A-brand

Love the details. I’m unsure how the hands happen, do people actually take parts on and off on garage kits? Or do they choose before making the figure? This seems to be a web-site exclusive, and is a resin kit to boot, there will be more at a dedicated segment at the end, but this is just so adorable. So many details, the cute animals, the backpack… I so hope this comes out as a PVC figure.
August 24th, Volks Web Site Store, 12,600 yen. Unpainted.

 

Original art.

Original art.

Five Not:

This section is especially NSFW this week.

1.

Fate/stay night Saber Real Arrange 003 1/4 PVC figure by Daiki Kougyou

Fate/stay night Saber Real Arrange 003 1/4 PVC figure by Daiki Kougyou

Why does Saber look like she’s pregnant? Why is she leaning backwards like that? Why is her face all soft and full, when it doesn’t look like Saber at all? People hint it will be cast-offable, not something that is re-assuring, because I want the figure to look good both with the clothes and off, if that’s the case. Only upside is size. Price is high as well, no way. As I said elsewhere, I’d rather have a small pile of crap over a large pile of crap, y’know?
I’m also unsure what I think of the paint-job, the colours are very much alive, the metal and dress may be a bit too shiny.
November 2009, 375 mm, 27,000 yen. Reserve.

 

 

2+3 (you’ll see).

Panty Wrestling Big Brother Billy Herrington: Christmas & New Year ver. figma 029-D action figure by Max Factory

Panty Wrestling Big Brother Billy Herrington: Christmas & New Year ver. figma 029-D action figure by Max Factory

Seriously? Aside from how ridiculous it is, the seam-lines/muscles are utter crap. The joints look more like early Revoltech or action figures of the crappy kind, that horrible gap under his chest, etc. Errr, no. Someone save me.
December 2009, 145mm, 3,000 yen. Niconico store exclusive?

Panty Wrestling Big Brother Billy Herrington: Halloween ver. figma 029-C action figure by Max Factory

Panty Wrestling Big Brother Billy Herrington: Halloween ver. figma 029-C action figure by Max Factory

I think this is slightly better, because this figure takes itself even less seriously, enabling it to go to the realm of parody.
October 2009, 145mm, 3,000 yen. Niconico store exclusive.

   

4.

Hyper Nurse Pain Killer Kotone-chan non-scale PVC figure by Keumaya

Hyper Nurse Pain Killer Kotone-chan non-scale PVC figure by Keumaya

Figure is NSFW, be ready before clicking the link.
The pose of the figure is ridiculous, it makes her whole abdomen look almost segmented, like an insect’s. Note the one figure where the bandaids over her oppai are off (don’t worry, it’s got stars added on), how her chest turns aside makes it look “off”. I actually like the bit she has on her hips.
Also, this figure doesn’t really have a “Safe mode”, which limits it to many people.

October 2009, 250mm, 7,500 yen.
But honestly, if you have no shame, like Madarame (from Genshiken), and if you don’t have a problem with her pose, then this might be the figure for you.

 

  

 

Original art.

Original art.

 5.

Maria -Angel’s Kiss & Devil’s Bride- Alp 1/7 PVC figure by Taki corporation

Maria -Angel’s Kiss & Devil’s Bride- Alp 1/7 PVC figure by Taki corporation

Another NSFW figure.
Yes, this is the NSFW lame week, it seems. This figure’s face is totally off. Her clothings? Awesome. This figure also suffers from the “sculpted chest problem”, where because the clothes are sculpted and rigid, they take space. With the clothes she looks ok, once you remove the top, you realize that there’s no way her top is going to occupy this much space, given the size of her non-existent chest.
This figure is also off in composition. Her waist is non-existent, compared to her other parts.
If you like her face, you may like her, but only with the clothes on. And having a cast-offable figure where you never want to remove the clothes? An issue.
August 2009, 8,800 yen.

 

    

 

Original art.

Original art.

Volks Garage Kits (Resin?): 

As promised above. Hopefully these will get remade as PVC.

Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann Yoko Ritona 1/8 GK by Volks Try-GK

Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann Yoko Ritona 1/8 GK by Volks Try-GK

September 2009, 10,000 yen, unassembled. Hair seems a bit plastic-like, too blocky, but painting which puts emphasis on shading could probably fix it.

 

Original art.

Original art.

 

La campanella della benedizione Chelsea Arcot 1/6 GK by Volks Turn A-brand

La campanella della benedizione Chelsea Arcot 1/6 GK by Volks Turn A-brand

August 24th Volks site exclusive, 12,000 yen, unpainted, reminds me of Katsura Hinagiku from Hayate no Gotoku in the face and hair. Stunning, another PVC super-hopeful.
After I saw pictures of her at the Volks’ show (link below), I became even more enamored with this. I so want this! Hopefully it’ll be released as PVC and it’d cost less than my soul.

 

Original art.

Original art.

News and Others:

Comiket happened last week, here are short picture-posts from Nekomagic:
Part 1, part 2, part 3.

Here‘s Nekomagic’s post for the Volks’ Cool! Summer Exhibition Show, Amazing figures, some were covered above. The Saber, the woman with the spear/naginata and the red-haired girl with the sword are especially attractive to me. And Chelsea Arcot which I discussed above.

Kannagi Gashapon (trading figures), relatively high quality. I really like the first Nagi (Nagi type A), though the face is a bit off, and the sign-carrying version of Zange-chan (Zange type B). I might actually get them. November 2009, 100-120mm, 800 yen each, 7 types + 1 secret.

And last, a question. I saw the following image on Kotokubiya’s site, can someone shed more information?

 

Please provide details!

Please provide details!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

15 comments on “Figure Friday – August 14th to 20th in Review.

  1. Snark says:

    Holy shit I want the Billy Herrington figmas

    • Guy says:

      You don’t deserve to walk amongst humanity.

      You shall be cast out, to wander the world, and sleep with the wild beasts, for no house shall welcome you within its confines.

      And you shall be known as Caine, the first vampire.

    • Guy says:

      BTW, you should give Californication a shot. Just right up your alley :)

  2. Ninjovee says:

    Hm. Those La Campanella Volks GKits are amazing and so is the original art they’re based off from… Must research on that game! I think the arms on the Agnes GK could be interchangeable, like how some PVC figures have alternate faces with them. Heavy, heavy price tag though, so I’ll just buy them in my dreams. =’D

    Yoko GK: HOT HOT HOT. I hope this variation gets the PVC treatment too, but I don’t think I’ll be able to get her and have her on display, as I feel it in my gut that my parents will question me for it. Will stick to the cute and lovely figures :D

    Kannagi gashapons… want ;~; but my (pre-order) expenses this year have quite reached their limit, so, I’ll pass on these as much as it saddens me.

    And all those Billy Herrington figmas scare me. Srsly.

    • Guy says:

      Well, the difference with GK interchnageable is that they come unpainted, and it seems most GK painters (like E2046?) don’t use sealers on the colours, so it could get smudged/moved/come off.
      Also, I’m used to figures where the parts don’t stay on unless you glue and perhaps even pin them, heh. And even if you could switch around, you usually glue/stick for it to hold properly..

      BTW, it seems they come from an eroge, so think before you research ;)

  3. Kanon says:

    Those chibi figures in the last picture are One Coin Grande figures of characters from BL games Togainu no Chi, Lamento, and Sweet Pool. The figures are really cute ^^ Here’s the link to it on Hobby Search if you haven’t seen it yet:
    http://www.1999.co.jp/item_e.asp?It_c=10092569&Eva=5

    Anyways, the Canaan and Ein figures look really lovely, and I love the Yoko resin kit, I hope it will be made into a PVC figure eventually!

    The Saber really is a “Do not want”! Seems like it’s really big, but still, 27,000 yen?! Whoa ^^;

    • Guy says:

      Thanks for the help :) Now just need for it to come out and buy a full set.

      I wouldn’t mind if a 10 piece set only had 10 of the 11 models, but I know I can end up with useless duplicates. That set is so cute.

      You know, that that Saber is 27,000 makes it even easier for people to avoid it. Because not only is it crappy looking, it’s expensive :)

  4. Tommy says:

    As you already know, I’ll be getting the GSC Canaan figure. Also pre-ordered the Nendo version, but I don’t really like the eyes on that…especially her (supposedly) cool-some red eyes, which are too dark.

    That Saber looks really crappy, but I bet people will still buy it cuz she’s Saber.

    Billy Herrington? Max Factory’s just milking him like all the other multiple release figmas they have…I hate it, but still buy the ones I like. “orz

    Umm…Taki Corp is just horrible. No idea how they’re surviving in the industry.

    • Tommy says:

      Oh, forgot to mention that the resin kits look lovely. Too bad I don’t have the patience to wait for the paint to dry. ^^;;

      • Guy says:

        If they come out in PVC, I’ll get them, especially Chelsea Arcot.

        You know I love Saber Lily Distant Avalon beyond words, but that’s cause she’s “ROAR Awesome!”, but Chelsea just warms my heart.

    • Guy says:

      That nendoroid is boring to me. She looks almost like a low-grade action figure one gets with one’s cereals ;)

      Taki corporation survives because people buy stuff, people buy shit. Some stores only bring a limited selection, and people will bring whatever they will bring.
      Taki corporation also survives for making cast-offables? Most are crappy, and people buy them anyway.
      A good cast-offable = good figure both with and without the clothes. Few manage that.

      When it’ll be announced, Emiyou Shiro and plain-clothes Saber figma might make the 5 not, perhaps together. They’re just so boring.

  5. FSF says:

    As I have no shame, Circle Keumaya’s Kotone-chan and Akumako PVCs piqued my interest (among other things). Besides the high quality of each, the whole controversy of getting banned from Comiket because of the level of detail you put into a sculpted vagina creates an air of heightened eroticism that just isn’t found in similar releases. Too bad they aren’t getting picked up by international dealers.

    • Guy says:

      I didn’t know they were banned from Comiket.

      The “No shame” is less about having shame, and more about what some guests may say. Living in the same house as my parents, and my room being visited by my grandparents and religious relatives, I’m not going to display it. I have no problem with it for friends to see, but I’d rather not at the time being.

      See, I like Akumako, but Kotone is to my mind not that well-sculpted. Sure, she only really has one glaring issue to me, that many people don’t see, but to me it’s major. The way her chest twists, it’s too long and twisted, and looks like an insect’s torso. So she got a space there, but it was a relatively minor one.

      • FSF says:

        I guess “banned” is a little strong. Apparently, the detailed anatomy of Kotone and Akumako was TOO accurate and any further sales were suspended on the second day of Comiket; really the whole reason they’re being released now. You might be able to chalk it up to nonsensical Japanese censorship laws which have always been out of whack (back in the day, any depiction of genitals was taboo and some manga artists chose to represent that part of the body with inanimate objects, such as vegetables etc.) Akibablog has an article about it here: http://en.akibablog.net/archives/2009/08/50874591.html

        I too live with my parents (who happen to be Catholic, though never overtly so). I think they like to pleasantly ignore my collection. As long as I attend college and continue to work a regular job, it keeps them happy.

        Though I understand where you’re coming from with Kotone-chan, I’d have to respectfully disagree. She is rather contorted, and very much off-center, but I think much of the perception of something irregular is based on perspective (observational, not opinionated). With limited angles and shots, its hard to gauge it precisely without having her right in front of you.

  6. lovelyduckie says:

    A very big YES to the Canaan figure for me. I’m looking forward to her eagerly. I paused over Ein, but I definitely think I need to see the anime in order to like that figure.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.