Gatchaman Crowds Project Kick-Off!

G-G-G-GATCHAMAN!

Those who follow the blog long enough know that Gatchaman Crowds holds a special place in my heart. After Gatchaman Crowds finished airing in late 2013, I wrote down a series of ideas I want to do small write-ups on, focusing on each character as a mask. Somehow, I never got around to it. Enter 2015, where we finally find out that Gatchaman Crowds Insight, a follow-up series, is about to air. I set aside the time to rewatch the original, finally write all my posts on it, and then watch the second season, without the second season impacting my write-ups on the first. Somehow, after rewatching half the series I got distracted, and only got around to watching the second season after it finished airing, but not before I made the time to rewatch the first series in its entirety.

I also finally took the time to write all those small essays on the first season, where I take each character as a “mask” and through said character and their mask explore both the series and the human experience. As a result of all of the above, I found myself with tens of thousands of words written about Gatchaman Crowds. Rewatch short-notes, full-episode break-downs, proper short essays, long essays, the whole thing. I’ve been sitting on all of these words since February, unable to get myself to publish them. I did want the final piece to come out on November 8th, because seeing how Gatchaman Crowds Insight revolves around elections, I thought it’d be very appropriate. But between moodiness and illness lately, that will not come to pass.

I want to do this right. This show is important to me. These write-ups are important to me.

As such, there’ll be a write-up every single day from tomorrow (October 30th), through November 22nd, according to the schedule posted here, in the page that’ll collect the entirety of my Gatchaman Crowds write-ups, and then the final write-up will be released a week later, on November 29th, my birthday.

Gatchaman Crowds Anime episode 12 - Ichinose Hajime bids us farewell

Cya all tomorrow!

I hope you’ll all join me on this journey, at least for the parts that interest you. It’s fine to pick and choose, just as Hajime would tell you, do what’s fun :)

6 comments on “Gatchaman Crowds Project Kick-Off!

  1. Chris says:

    I’m looking forward to these write-ups. Crowds first season is one of my all-time favorites. I didn’t like the second season as much, but the first is still in my top ten.

    • Guy says:

      I’ve heard the sentiment expressed, about liking Insight less, but who knows, maybe my write-up might convince some people to see the series in another light.

      My goal is always to help people like what I like, but no forcing, I can see why it wouldn’t work, or work but wouldn’t be enjoyable for everyone.

      Will be glad to have you along for the month-long ride!

  2. I look forward to this project! Gatchaman Crowds/Insight is one of my favorite anime, and it’s criminally underappreciated. I hope you’ll be able to make some people want to check it out, or continue watching it.

    (I actually liked Insight a bit more than Crowds. Crowds clearly had a somewhat troubled production, but Insight clearly had itself more together.)

    • Guy says:

      I wanted to say that like the case with Shigofumi, Gatchaman Crowds isn’t underrated, but underwatched, and liked by all who watched it. But that’s actually not true. Back when it aired, many people told me they really needed my posts to make sense of the show, or liked them better than the show itself.

      I didn’t like Insight more, but majy people seem to even dislike it, even if they liked the original, so I hope to help get that season at least the appreciation it deserves. Insight was more focused, so it was also easier to consume and somewhat less interesting, though more topical.

  3. fgfdfh says:

    Looking forward to it! I thought you have given up a long time ago.Thankfully not. Oh, and this is my selfishness, but can I ask for Concrete Revolutio as well? I want to write something about it, but being a naturally lazy person, I had settled for the second choice: reading other’s write-up.

    • Guy says:

      Don’t worry, I selfishly very much want to finish Concrete Revolutio and write about every episode myself. The absolute deadline has to be the end of year post, but I hope to use some of the time the Gatchaman Crowds posts will allot me to finish it this month, and release it early December, but I’m so busy with real life right now that it’s hard.

      And no, I don’t give up. I just take another year or two to actually get things done. But even the Princess Tutu watch will one day end, and all my posts on Kara no Kyoukai. I take the long view, and until my readers pay for me to write, sometimes they’ll have to as well, even if all of us are unhappy about it.

Leave a Reply

