Media Month in Review – July 2014

I use this post to go over all the media consumed/experienced over the past month, with 2-4 sentences per item. A way to give short thoughts on each topic.

Games:

Tales of Xillia

  • BlazBlue: Chrono Phantasma – Played some more in the beginning of the month, then shelved it in order to play the following game:
  • Tales of Xillia – I finally, a year down the line, began playing my Day 1 Edition, which was on sale for half-price about half a year after day 1… Well, I wanted to finish it before ToX 2 came out, to see if I want to get it. I really like it, it’s a good action-RPG that has good action, and solid RPG, after the snooze-fest that Final Fantasy X’s first 12 hours were. I poured in 15 hours or so, but then got distracted. I want to play, but I keep putting it off, and then it’s 1 AM, and I know it’d end up 5 am if I were to start playing it at 1 AM, and then it ends up 5 AM without me playing it anyway… But I’m enjoying it quite a bit. The English dub is good, though I do wish I could have the Japanese dub as well. No real reason not to, right? This is also my first Tales game.

  • Transistor – After finishing the game in a day, I’ve put some time into the New Game+, and it’s still good. New powers, enemies being “stronger” by giving them new abilities, or new enemy combination make things feel fresh, rather than merely “difficult”. Definitely worthy of replay. And yeah, getting the “10 Inhibitors” achievement was hard.
  • Hearthstone – After not playing for months, The Curse of Naxxramas expansion came out. I still find it too easy to sink hours into the game, but it’s still a bit too simplistic. Games are harder for me now, not because opponents are better, but because over the months I didn’t play they obtained a bunch of powerful cards, which I didn’t.
  • League of Legends – DoomBots came out. Only managed to get up to 3-man skype-calls, but managed to defeat the 5-bombs in the end. Jungle Master Yi hypercarry FTW. Need to put in more hours if I want to get the gold reward for this year, it’s soon™.

Movies:

  • Jin-Roh: The Wolf Brigade – It was an interesting, slow, and thoughtful film. I thought it’d have a lot more action, or espionage, but it didn’t. Reminds me of slightly more artistic films from modern times (Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead, and A Single Man) or older films with Clint Eastwood, such as his westerners and Dirty Harry. Definitely not what I expected, and while I wasn’t floored, I think it’s a good film. I have a write-up, but it’s sorta clunky and dirty, so will either clean it up for front-page post, or throw it on the movies’ notes sub-page. 7/10.

Anime:

  • Sukitte Ii na Yo. (Say, “I Love You”) Season 1 episodes 1-13+OVA (Complete) – It’s a pretty standard Shoujo Romance, and I felt I was in the mood for one, after all the ones aimed at boys. It was sweet, it was bitter. It wasn’t anything stand-out, but it got me emotional a few times, and thus got the job done. 7/10.
  • Kimi ni Todoke (From Me to You) Season 1 episodes 1-25, season 2 episodes 1-12, specials (Complete) – After Sukitte Ii na Yo. I felt the need for another Shoujo Romance, and picked this one. It wasn’t as good. Nothing happened, and not just in the usual romance sort of way, but just bad pacing, where entire episodes could be cut out, and even half of the second season, basically. There is a good 18 episode series here, but it’s a shame it took 37 episodes to get through. 5.8/10.
  • Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya Season 1 episodes 9-10 + OVA (Complete) – It only took a year, but I finally finished watching the series. Good action, alright slice of life/comedy, and too much fan-service. Editorial here.
  • Ergo Proxy episodes 5-11 – This got weird. The metaphors within the show, between different situations and questions are made more overt, between the world that seems to be “paradise”, and those that collapsed, and worlds without humans. Also, one episode went full Neon Genesis Evangelion episodes 25-26, and it didn’t crash and burn. Also added to the list of shows I fell behind anime club on. I need to stop picking new shows.
  • Ohayo by Satoshi-Kon – It’s one minute long, and it’s on YouTube. Just watch it.
  • Seasonal anime – Various episodes finishing the loose ends from the Spring season and the beginning of the Summer season, series whose episodes were watched include: Akame ga Kill!, Aldnoah.Zero, Barakamon, Black Bullet, Fairy Tail, Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya 2Wei!, Glasslip, Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun (The Monthly Girls’ Nozaki-kun), Hitsugi no Chaika, JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders, Sailor Moon Crystal, Shirogane no Ishi: Argevollen, Sidonia no Kishi, Sword Art Online II, Tokyo ESP, Tokyo Ghoul, and Zankyou no Terror (Terror in Resonance).

In case you’re wondering, I’ve watched 110 full length episodes, and 3 “shorts” episodes this month, compared to 57 full-length episodes last month, and around 70 most months. I’m still behind on various shows I’ve started, but it seems when the anime-watching bug bites, I can move some episodes. Need to stop picking up new shows and finish the half-finished ones I have, whose count keeps rising.

Books/Comics:

  • Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind manga, by Hayao Miyazaki – Just began, but it’s so… rich, and full of content. There are often a lot of panels in each page, and they have a lot of details in each one. It most reminds me of Neil Gaiman’s Sandman, in some respects. Will have more to say next month. For those who don’t know, this manga was written and drawn by Hayao Miyazaki over twelve years, and is the origin for the movie by the same name.
  • Consider Phlebas, by Iain M. Banks – Got distracted, so only got a few pages further. It’s at the part where we see humanity at its darkest.
  • Chihayafuru chapter 132 – I hate reading manga as it’s released. I will probably fall behind and read it once a year, on everything that comes out. This is self-inflicted torture :-/

Television:

  • The Legend of Korra Book 3: Change, Episodes 4-8 – And the show goes to an episode-a-week schedule once more. I really love this world. I wish they had 20 episodes per season, just like in The Last Airbender. As is, the “plot” always feels rushed, and Avatar had never really been about the plot, which was its strength.

So, anything from the past month you’d like to speak more of? A play, a book, something not necessarily anime-related, or which you hadn’t blogged about?

2 comments on “Media Month in Review – July 2014

  1. Hey I didn’t know you played League.
    Mind if I add you? My IGN’s EatzAce

    Also, if you’re looking for a good fantasy shounen anime I’d recommend Kuroshitsuji: Book of Circus. It has an interesting story, great cast and has given me a few good laughs. I hope you give it a try.

    • Guy says:

      I play on EUW, not NA, which is where you’re located, and I generally only really play with RL friends or my old Dominion buddies, these days, but thanks for the offer :)

      I was going to tell you, “Kuroshitsuji, shounen? Ridiculous!” but I looked it up and it is. I’ve actually watched the first two seasons and found it pretty boring. It’s not my thing, and while it was competently made, I just didn’t really enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

