12 Days of Anime #7 – NouCome – The Longest Three Minutes of My Life in Anime

This entry is about an episode, and specifically about three minutes within it, where I’ve almost been defeated by an anime. I’ve never actually stopped watching an anime series in the middle of an episode, but this season I came so very close to it.

Noucome / Ore no Nounai Sentakushi ga, Gakuen Love Comedy wo Zenryoku de Jama Shiteiru / My Mental Choices Are Completely Interfering With My School Romantic Comedy anime

This show isn’t even trying to hide it’s trolling you.

On the the 4th of October, I’ve watched the first episode of Yuushibu, and 50 seconds in I almost wanted to quit. It was bad, but the last few minutes picked up, but were still nothing special. I dropped the show, and thought this was the worst episode I’ve tried this season. And then came October 9th, and I’ve given a try to NouCome, or “My Mental Choices Are Completely Interfering With My School Romantic Comedy” (“Ore no Nounai Sentakushi ga, Gakuen Love Comedy wo Zenryoku de Jama Shiteiru” is the full Japanese title. Like Yuushibu, once the name is long enough apparently you can’t take the show seriously), and just blew Yuushibu completely out of the water in terms of how terrible it’s been.

I knew something was wrong 50 seconds into the episode when the protagonist started sparkling, and then he got faced with such a “genius” choice – eat a dirty magazine, or rub his face in it… in general, the level of choices and humor displayed in this episode were of the sort you’d get were you to ask a five year old child to tell you a joke, and then another one, and another one, then they’d shout a joke and laugh shrilly – they’re not actually having fun, and neither are you.

But, even all of that paled in compared to what followed, if you could believe it – between 6 and 9 minutes, we had three uninterrupted minutes where we’ve been regaled with choices people had made throughout history, fiction, and just made whole-clothe, including choices that aren’t really choices. I feared for my sanity, I feared for my health, but as this continued I couldn’t believe anyone would actually murder a show’s pacing like this, and it was horrible and unfunny to boot.

Noucome / Ore no Nounai Sentakushi ga, Gakuen Love Comedy wo Zenryoku de Jama Shiteiru / My Mental Choices Are Completely Interfering With My School Romantic Comedy anime

It’s almost as if they were written by a five year old, under duress.

Some people say Yuushibu and NouCome got better after the first episode, but as I’ve said before – you’ve only got one shot at making a first impression, so why would you present anything but your very best? Unless you want to make sure whoever stays on board is ready for your very worst. This is why I also don’t trust people who said these shows got better – they liked the first episode well enough to keep on watching, so their tastes and mine are probably incompatible already in this regard.

So, dear readers, any moment this year where you’ve had an absolutely terrible experience relating to anime (not related to anime fans), or watched a terrible show? Not just disappointment, which we’ve discussed in day #9’s post, but just a terrible experience/shows?


And now, here are thoughts shared by others, related this time just to watching bad shows:

Vintagecoats: That one week I watched all of Upotte!!, Akikan!, and Fight Ippatsu! Juuden-Chan!!

Objectively, I thoroughly disliked all of them, sure. We’re looking at a lineup where Upotte!! was the best thing I watched all week, the show where the girls are guns and by jove are the production folks going to put the triggers exactly where one would think they would. But, it was a critically interesting run-through with the whole “Girls As [Noun]” thing, and it was so concentrated that I can’t help but remember that stunt. On a certain level, trying to unpack something like these products are interesting to me, as there are still commercial products which are angling for success with their target demographics. So the way they are constructed, the way they try to execute on their objectives, is a sort of bile fascination.

6 comments on “12 Days of Anime #7 – NouCome – The Longest Three Minutes of My Life in Anime

  1. rikuo06 says:

    Doesn’t get better, just more idiotic choices and one-note characters, though no more pseudo-historical asides. We’re just weird for being able to “enjoy” this trash enough to finish it. By the way, the protagonist gets a call from God and he turns out to be a useless irresponsible prick who just got the job. Because the previous guy up and left.

    • Guy says:

      I know people who enjoy it and say it’s “good”, actually. And yeah, I didn’t touch upon it because it was more about the moment and less about the show itself, but I really disliked every character introduced in the first episode, especially the would-be Yuki Nagato clone. They have her be “dry”, and this is supposed to somehow impress us as to how “cool” her character is. It felt the show was trying way too hard, and relying way too hard on tropes, rather than actually writing solid characters/interactions.

      It actually felt like the “witticisms” by Mitsuki in Kyoukai no Kanata, they think being witty and “smart” are enough to actually replace good character writing and interaction…

  2. I did finish this show you mentioned. It became a generic harem with a twist. I was able to stomach it, but for these 3 minutes, I was wondering what the hell I was watching after the first minute. “Wait, I was watching something just now, right?”

    Anyway… regarding anime that I had trouble relating with, etc… I don’t remember, because I tend to just drop them and forget about them completely. I’m pretty forgiving too because I would watch almost anything. That plus the limited amount of time I have these days makes it hard to follow up on some of them.

    • Guy says:

      I try to drop shows I don’t enjoy as well, but last season took me way too many weeks to get down to my goal of 10 shows a week… well, yeah. There’s what’s called “The Zone of Mediocrity”, most stuff is “meh”, we tend to remember what stands out in one of two directions – being really good, or really bad. And what’s really bad, or rather, what one really dislikes, they do tend to remember.

  3. froggykun says:

    I actually kind of liked that three minute montage in Noucome and thought it was the best attempt at humour in the show. I dropped it after episode 2. It was thoroughly shallow overall.

    • Guy says:

      I often note how repetition is one of the hallmarks of comedy, but that means repeating it across time. Not hammering you on the head, almost literally, with it, heh.

      I might even agree with you that it was one of the better attempts at humor in the show, but that it was just so bad goes to show what I thought of the others ;-)

Leave a Reply

