Month in Review – November 2009: Purchases and Media.

Well, it’d please you all to know that while I’m not sure what’s going on with Figure Friday, there will be Figure Monthly rolling out next week, for October, and shortly thereafter November, at the very least. This very entry should have gone up earlier this week, but school is putting the crack down, as well as dealing with the public beta of the Hordes wargame which is currently ongoing.

Read on for last month’s media consumption and purchases, which had been relatively light, due to both school and a new girlfriend taking away from my free time. Also, happy birthday to me ;)

Media:

Movies:

  • Stalag 17 – An oldie and goodie, it’s such a shame that not more people know this movie. You laugh, and you feel. About American Prisoners of War in German warcamps during WW2. Made in 1953 or so. Also a very good rendition of When Jonny Comes Marching Home Again (linked above).
  • District 9 – Due to my birthday, and having free tickets, and all of my friends already having watched Inglorious Basterds, we’ve went and watched District 9, which I’ve already watched at Icon 2009 two months ago. I still had fun.
  • Tricks/Sztuczki – A Polish film my mother brought. Cute, somewhat aimed at those willing to not take things too seriously. Was a nice watch. It’s about a young boy, his older sister who cannot advance in life and teaches him how to “tempt fate”, and how he gets their father who left their family back home.
  • Billy Elliot – Amazingly, we’ve watched this film, which I own, at school, as an example of changing one’s social cosmology, as part of a Sociology class about inequality in everyday life.
  • Toy Story 1 – This is the first time I’ve watched the movie in English, on DVD, and it held up well, if you ask me.
  • Toy Story 2 – This is the first time I’ve watched this movie, at all. I’ve loathed Jesse, and I know she was written this way on purpose, but I was annoyed. Also, he wasn’t kidnapped by a Japanese collector, Woody, but kidnapped (“Stolen”, technically, the “Kidnap” assumes that the thief knew he was a “Sentient being”) in order to be sold to one, so more like toy-trafficking ;)

Anime:

  • Toradora! – Watched episodes 1-3, currently seems like a regular “We will make it!” series, the drastic animation style in the third episode (it feels different) kinda threw me off for a bit.
  • Gurren Lagann – Episodes 1-2. Watching this again, with Chen (the girlfriend). I totally didn’t remember the opening sequence which foreshadows the end (or perhaps the Spiral King’s past, or Kamina’s dad as imagined by him?), and there are really wacky “Camera angle changes”, like when Kamina realized it’s his dad’s skull at the end of the second episode, and it makes such a shift from his view to seeing them from the side, as silhouettes, as he shouts at the sky. I plan to get some more done this weekend, but I only watch it with her, which limits things a tad.
  • Finished Claymore, which I’ve covered. Episodes 19-26. I think I did it on the first of the month, actually.

Books:

  • Eisenhorn omnibus – The first book of the omnibus, and most of the second. Xenos and Malleus, respectively.
  • Resurrection Man – Just wanted to read a section of it again, picked it up, and before I knew it it was over. A weird and marvelous book.
  • Yeah, school kept me busy :(

Purchases:

  • More miniatures…
  • Receives the replacement part for Saber Lily Nendoroid‘s base, so will finish her photoshoot soon. Good job Good Smile Company customer service!
  • Paid for Saber Alter Maid by Alter (+Chibi), via Tokyo Hunter (Expensive!).
  • Clothes! I’ve actually posted “coverage” of the issue, but now I’m actually in posession of better looking clothes. I think my previous wardrobe is mostly fine, but well, that’s life.
  • The Road by Cormac McCarthy – My sister took the previous copy with her to China (she returned from a 4 month trip earlier today), so I had to get a new copy.
  • Not exactly a purchase, but I’ve received replacement speakers, a newer set, from Altec Lansing (2.1, 2 speakers and a subfwoofer), and it’s perfect.

 In other news, I’ve turned 24 on the 29th of November :)

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

21 comments on “Month in Review – November 2009: Purchases and Media.

  1. Canne says:

    Happy belated Birthday!

  2. James says:

    Happy late birthday :o

    I love Tora Dora so much ! So sad that the two last episodes sux (at least my opinion :/)

    • Guy says:

      Thanks!

      Hm, many people say it’s not just the last two episodes, but the latter half of the series? Well, hopefully I’ll get there and see for myself!

  3. bluedrakon says:

    Happy Belated Birthday as well.
    Gurren Lagann was a great series to watch. It is one of my Top 5 animes of all time now.

    • Guy says:

      It’s amazing how colourful it is. We just passed the notorious level 4, heh. So different watching only a couple episodes at a time.

      And thanks :)

  4. Optic says:

    Happy Birthday. I don’t mean to be rude but I thought u were a lot older. 0_0

    Looking forward to Toy Story 3 next year. The Toy Story movies is my most loved Pixar animation ever.

    • Guy says:

      No offense taken, and yes, I know what you mean. People “accused” me of being about 24 back when I’ve been 16, online. It happens ;)

      Hmmm, Toy Story 3, I wonder if they’ll keep the same style and quality of the animation, which while a bit outdated, has its charm. I hope they do, and I hope Jesse won’t be annoying, which might be asking for too much ;)

  5. Yi says:

    “Read on for last month’s media consumption and purchases, which had been relatively light, due to both school and a new girlfriend taking away from my free time. Also, happy birthday to me ;)”

    Relatively light? That is quite a lot of movies and anime watched in a month.
    Anyways, happy belated birthday!

    • Guy says:

      Well, 6 movies is a fair amount. My mother usually brings home 1-2 movies every week, so some of it depends just on how many of them I watch, but yeah.

      Anime? 5 episodes? That’s nothing. Remember that I prefer to watch full series in one day. Dunno, school and personal life kept me too busy to be able to immerse myself in series, which makes me sad. I also didn’t play close to enough Dragon Age: Origins, that truly makes me sad.
      I looked at my list again, and I forgot the last 7 episodes of Claymore, so that moved me up to 12 episodes, which is a fair, if not high amount.

      And well, my main view is, say, on books, and there it’s truly nothing. I forgot one book so I added it, but still, that’s just nearly 3 books, effectively, in a month. That also doesn’t fill me with joy :-/

      And thanks!

      • Yi says:

        It’s definitely not very much anime or movies, but 3 books is definitely more than I ever read in a month… :(

        Maybe I should read more books.

  6. lovelyduckie says:

    My blogging is a lot slower from school too.

    • Guy says:

      Hm, I think school is only one part, because even when I have the time I often don’t blog as much as I want/should, but it adds up.

  7. Reltair says:

    Happy bday! 24!!

    Saber Alter Maid, NICE!

  8. Tommy says:

    Happy birthday.

    So…where’s that figure monthly October, November, and quite possibly December? :P

    Anyways, happy holidays.

    • Guy says:

      LOL, busy school, busy life?

      I am going to make a post before today ends (in an hour and 7 minutes’ time). I keep having ideas, but somehow I look at the watch, say I’ll do it after X, then Y happens.
      December Figure Monthly will not happen before December ends though, that’s for sure ;)

      I’m going to be spending a couple hours today, and a couple tomorrow, catching up on blogs. I also owe you folks a specific entry on music, and I have a couple T-Shirts I want to put up, and Figure Monthly, and 1.5 figures whose shots were already taken some time back and all I need is to work on the photos and put up a review…

      It’s time. I have an assignment or two most week, besides much reading, and spending time with the new girlfriend.

      Thanks, and you too :) Channukah just ended, so no more holidays for a while for me, and Channukah didn’t even result in any days off from school for me :-/

  9. enrius says:

    Terribly sorry for a belated birthday wish! Happy birthday!

    By the way, what happened to your Saber Lily?

    • Guy says:

      It’s ok, thanks! :)

      My Saber Lily Nendoroid’s rod snapped, because it moves, and the joint is very light, and I tried to lift her by the dress rather than lift her off her base, then change the axle, then put her back.

      Got a replacement.

  10. FaS says:

    Tureen lagann….definitely the most vibrant anime EVER. like woowwwwwwwwwwww. Me and my dad saw the last episode together (not having seen ANY prior episodes) and we just couldn’t get over it. Toy story 2 I’ve seen a bagillion times…kind of wondering what toy story 3 will be about. I’m not really a big fan of kiddy 3D movies like that, but I might consider seeing it :p haven’t seen claymoreeeee…but I can definitely agree with most of the list

    • Guy says:

      I didn’t like Toy Story 2 that much, who knows, it may grow on me if I’ll watch it again, but it just doesn’t make me want to, you know? Monsters Inc. on the other hand is a movie you can watch many times, almost in a row, just like small children have one-two shows/books they will ask for repeatedly.

      Gurren Lagann, watching on, but I think it loses some of its wacky editing, maybe due to the whole director fiasco ;)

Leave a Reply

