Anime Season Midterms – First Impressions.

Ore no Imōto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai

Well, we’re in the middle of the current anime season (Fall 2010?), and I thought rather than wait for all these anime to end, I’d say a couple of words regarding several series I’ve been watching, meaning to watch, etc. There’d obviously be longer posts after these shows end. Or at least the current seasons…

Ore no Imōto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai – for short, Ore no Imoto, or even shorter, Oreimo. In English: My Little Sister Can’t be This Cute.
This show is like Genshiken (blog post) in a way. A show about otaku, exploring them. It is more comical though. Episodes 5-6 were a bit weird, but the show had definitely taken on slightly less hijinks and crazy anime lovers attitude, and a somewhat more “Slice of Life” stance. I have high hopes for it to keep going strong. I love it thus far. Good show, enjoyable cast, cute characters, some good laughs (albeit some weird moments like when Kyosuke fought their father..). But overall? WATCH IT. Right now.

Hyakka Ryoran Samurai Girls – Beautiful Flowers Samurai Girls or some such in English?
This show is beautiful. It often looks like some high quality video game, complete with effects. The drawings’ quality is of the highest caliber. There are effects of ink blots that look nice during battles, but are mostly used to hide the private parts of characters during the show. This happens quite a bit. This is a super soft ecchi show, ala Queen’s Blade. You can already tell those ink blots will be coming off in some future DVD release…
The show is mostly devoid of story, even 7 episodes in, and whatever is there is sparse, and is just an excuse for the pr0n. The voice acting is not that impressive either… so it has Rie Kugimiya, but there’s a limit.
Watch if you want beautiful drawing of beautiful 2D girls. Pass otherwise.

Shinryaku! Ika Musume – Invasion! Squid Girl
I did not watch this show. But, after watching the following video on YouTube, I just know I’ll have to watch it… Do watch the video!

I also need to watch Toaru Majutsu no Index season 2 (A Certain Magical Index, see first season post), but I just hadn’t had the time… been sleeping a lot lately. A lot!

I’ll also get you some preliminary thoughts on Highschool of the Dead, later though.

So, what did you watch? What did you like? What did you hate? Tell me what to watch, and what to avoid! :)

Enhanced by Zemanta

13 comments on “Anime Season Midterms – First Impressions.

  1. Yi says:

    That one sketch from Ika Musume is the highlight of the show so far. Otherwise, the series has been quite inconsistent. Some sketches are really funny, while others just fall flat.

    OreImo is a must watch for the season.

    • Guy says:

      Well, I’d say it’s the must watch of the season. True “Must watch” shows remain must-watch in a couple of years’ time as well (which reminds me of a project of revisiting past years and seeing what endured and what did not).

      I hope Oreimo will indeed remain this good, and won’t follow the lousy example of Angel Beats! which began as a must watch, and which we now all curse (or not), but which I doubt many people would bother seeking out in a couple of years’ time. Unless it gets Serial Experiments Lain-ed, and people try to inject it with depth it does not truly possess, but only makes appearances of.

      Interesting, so Ika Musume is a sketch based show, ala Azumangah Daioh? I thought it was a series with linearity of plot/events, and did indeed wonder how this video came out of the 5th episode.
      This of course is a strength as well as a weakness. It means you’re unlikely to love everything the show comes up with, but you’re also capable of watching the show if you like half of the sketches. Something for everything, never everything for anyone.

      And that video is so adorable.

  2. I watched way too many and it’s getting hard to keep up now, lol. Drop by my site if you wanna see what I’ve been saying about this season, lol. Ika Musume was something I was looking forward to ever since I discovered a picture of her on Danbooru. I thought she was some kind of corporate mascot that sells seafood ^^; I tried watching Super Robot Taisen, but that was kinda hard for something I thought was a super robot bash’em-up… How unfortunate.

    • Guy says:

      Well, why not use this space to share the summaries, in one sentence for each series, of what’s hot and what’s not?

      Super Robot Taisen was “hard”? As in “Hard Science-Fiction”? I’m not sure I’m following.

      Will drop by though, am trying to find time to do those things.

      • Hard to follow Super Robot Taisen… I missed that one verb, lol.

        Samurai Girls was pretty much fan service, which I don’t mind, but I was looking for a bit more substance. Maybe I’m not watching enough yet…

        Ika Musume, even though it’s reminiscent of Keroro Gunsou, still a fun watch, even without the super cutesy dream sequence ^^;

        OreImo feels somewhat more real compared to the recent Nogizaka Haruka series about an otaku girl.

        So far though, The World God Only Knows is one of my favourites this season.

      • Guy says:

        Hm. I am not sure I can follow it from the wikipedia article… a new anime series for it?

        Samurai Girls is about beautiful drawings. There is no real story, but considering that they’ve released dakimakura and figures before the anime was released, I don’t know if we could have had much home for such.

        Sgt. Frog’s cover image always weirded me out :P

        I hadn’t watched Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu, though it’s on The List, that only grows longer as time goes by.

        The World God Only Knows, harem, comedy, drama? I know what it’s about, but how would you describe the actual show?

  3. [...] Anime Season Midterms – First Impressions. (geekorner.wordpress.com) [...]

  4. halfey says:

    actually, if you happened to read the light novel, the story is more to a brother-sister relationship (not really incest, but I can say siscon) which makes this anime falls under the seinen genre. The otaku part is like a side dish which will fade away from being the main subject as the series goes on. That’s why I’d prefer not to say this anime is “like Genshiken” as it is actually dealing with other issue more than just otakuism

    • Guy says:

      I generally don’t read light novels.

      Well, you know, I say how I find things :) I am aware that these things are not set in stone, seeing as it’s the first half of the first season. It’s titled “Season Midterms – First Impressions” after all :)

      I did notice the show is moving more to discuss the brother-sister relationship. But! It uses otaku interests as the vehicle that drives not only the story, but their relationship. Genshiken is not really about otakusim, as much as it’s about otaku – about a group of friends and their lives.

      Genshiken is a “slice of life” show after all, not a show about otaku. It’s a show using otakuism to drive forth its narrative, that is also about otaku :)

      • halfey says:

        well, my comment was also based on the “first impression” upon reading your post (the light novel part was irrelevant).

        Actually even if I compare Genshiken with other type of otaku-related anime, I’d still say Genshiken deals directly with otakuism more. Being “slice-of-life” is just the genre, which is valid for all otaku-related anime, like (surprisingly) Hayate no Gotoku (everybody knows Nagi is an otaku) but still nobody calls it anime about otaku despite she’s the main character. The same also goes to K-ON. We may think it’s like other music-related anime but nobody calls it anime “about music” when compared to Beck or Nodame Cantabile.

        Just my opinion, not fact; I mean the main reason why I don’t see OreImo as “anime about otaku” is because Genshiken exists. I might have totally agreed with you that this is an anime about otaku if Genshiken wasn’t there for me to make a comparison like that.

  5. Andy K says:

    Hey Guy, have you watched Soredemo Machi Wa Mawatteiru? I mentioned it before as the anime version of my favorite manga of recent date. I watched an ep or two, and I thought the pacing was good, the 3rd party narration a little off, and some of the voices… very off. But overall a pretty ok adaptation, I think.

    • Guy says:

      Nope, and hadn’t seen you mention it. If it’s an anime in recent crop you’ve actually enjoyed, then I’ll definitely give it a look.

      Why is it your favourite recent manga, curiousity makes me ask?

  6. lovelyduckie says:

    I haven’t even come close to touching any anime series from this season. I’m too busy looking at the past and the series I’ve missed.

Leave a Reply

