Music: Gunslinger Girl OP.

I had made mention of this back in the December 2009 Month in Review post, but I had watched the first season of the Gunslinger Girl anime and I had a thing or two to say, not only of the anime (which will come in the future), but of the opening theme as well. For those of you who missed it, here’s another shot at it:

(I am not going to blog about the iPad at this time, though I’m sure the blogosphere is all atumble with the “news”.)

This is a good song, and more than that, the animation which is quite on the slow side, has things to look at, to look for.

The music playing is “The Light Before We Land” by The Delgados, which one cannot find an original video performance of for their lives, as YouTube is all swamped with videos of anime series with the song… anyway, you can listen to the full song here.

Personally, the song begins slow, and there’s the chorus, or sort of, where she goes, “In truth there’s no better place to be..” and along with the instruments in the background, the music I kept thinking of when listening to this song was the immortal Court of the Crimson King by King Crimson. Chen claims they are in no way similar, but I will let you listen and tell me what you think, ok (I think a lot of it is the feel, the subdued, and the rises when they come)?

With the Gunslinger Girl OP, please watch the video. Notice how the girls and the mundane people do not exist in the same world, in the same plane. When the girl is in focus, the people go about their everyday lives, not noticing the one who is not meant to be noticed, and when the passersby are in focus (walking in front of the stairs), then Henrietta and her friends are simply not there.

When the sun shines, and the free doves fly above, and the girls are all together, then that’s all they are, all there is. The girls, without other humans. They may have a life, or they may not, but it’s up to them. They stand apart from humanity, and from freedom.

As for the song, I’ll focus on the portion of the lyrics that they included, and assume that this is the part they cared for (after all, it’s a long OP as is, so I assume they got what they wanted). Once you watch the series, you understand this is what if not the series, then the characters are about. They trade a broken life for an artificial life which is broken in entirely new ways, and which comes with an expiration date.

They have this prospect of happiness, so long they don’t think of it too much (rest my head), and the happiness is somewhat thrust upon them. They are happy, so long they do not think, so long they do not see. They are happy, because they are forbidden from seeing.

They are not really happy, because they see.

Lyrics of the full song:

In cases such as these I’d like a hand
Don’t wake me up without a master plan
With silence I’m becoming fragile
Don’t you understand?
When things that once were beautiful
Are bland

And when I feel like I can feel once again
Let me stay awhile
Soak it in awhile
If we can hold on we can fix what is wrong
Buy a little time
For this head of mine
Haven for us

In truth there is no better place to be
Than falling out of darkness still to see

Without a premonition
Could you tell me where we stand?
I’d hate to lose this light
Before we land

And when I feel like I can feel once again
Let me stay awhile
Soak it in awhile
If we can hold on we can fix what is wrong
Buy a little time
For this head of mine
Haven for us

Before we let euphoria
Convince us we are free
Remind us how we used to feel
Before when life was real

And when I feel like I can feel once again
Let me stay awhile
Soak it in awhile
If we can hold on we can fix what is wrong
Buy a little time
For this head of mine
Haven for us

Enhanced by Zemanta

6 comments on “Music: Gunslinger Girl OP.

  1. phossil says:

    I really like the Gunslinger Girl OP

  2. Reltair says:

    Eh, there’s some similarities between the two songs I think.

  3. bluedrakon says:

    my wife loved this series. I have not fully reviewed the soundtrack, so this is an interesting insight to the lyrics

    • Guy says:

      Well, I just listened to the OP, not the whole soundtrack.

      And anime loving wife is good :) How did you settle in the new place?

  4. Yi says:

    I absolutely love this series. The OP (both the sequence and the music) is incredible and really adds to the mood of the series.
    Great analysis!

Leave a Reply

